BDO Limerick proud sponsors of Limerick Regional Business Awards

Now in its fourth year, the annual Limerick Chamber Regional Business Awards celebrate excellence in business across 7 categories. Attracting high profile industry support and involvement, the Awards offer businesses the opportunity to promote major achievements and celebrate success. Forward-looking and innovative organisations within Limerick Chamber membership and in the Midwest region are eligible to enter or nominate as many of the Award categories as they wish.

Grassland Agro,which produces and sells a range of commodity fertilisers and soil conditioning products, was hailed the ‘Overall Business of the Year’.
Over 400 of the region’s top business leaders and government officials attended the annual dinner and awards ceremony which featured a keynote address by Martin Shanahan, CEO, IDA Ireland.
In addition to the 8 business awards contested on the evening, a special President’s award was presented by Cathal Treacy. Des O’Malley was the recipient of this Award. Mr O’Malley was honoured for his lasting legacy on the industrial landscape of our region. During his time as Minister for Industry and Commerce, he played a key role in bringing job-creating foreign investment into Limerick region. Previous winners of the Presidents Award include Shannon Airport chairperson Rose Hynes, Southill Gaelscoil founder Paddy O’Sullivan, and former Kerry Group chief executive Denis Brosnan.
All of the award winners were presented with a unique sculpture crafted from bog oak by Joe O’Shea of ‘Banner Bog Oak’.

The full list of the 2014 Limerick Chamber Regional Business Awards winners is as follows:
Best Start-Up / Emerging Business Award, sponsored by Limerick Institute of Technology: YellowSchedule
2014 Best SME Business Award, sponsored by Bank of Ireland: Kemp Technologies
2014 Best Large Business Award, sponsored by Holmes O’Malley Sexton: Grassland Agro
2014 Best Corporate Social Responsibility Award, sponsored by IDA Ireland: Dell Ireland
2014 Best Service Business Award, sponsored by Limerick City & County Council: Home Instead Senior Care
2014 Best Retail & Hospitality Business Award, sponsored by BDO: Michael Gleeson Shoes & Limerick Strand Hotel(joint winners)
2014 Best Sport, Art & Culture Business Award, sponsored by Northern Trust: The Lime Tree Theatre
2014 Overall Business of the Year Award: Grassland Agro
2014 Limerick Chamber President’s Award: Mr Des O’Malley

The awards are judged by a panel of industry experts drawn from the senior management teams of sponsors; Colin McLean, Head of Faculty of Business & Humanities, LIT, Paul Nestor, Taxation Partner, BDO, Dr Pat Daly, Director of Economic Development & Planning, Limerick City & County Council, Terry Heaney, Partner, Holmes O’Malley Sexton and Kieran Martin, Senior Business Manager, Bank of Ireland. The panel was chaired by Kieran Mac Sweeney and Secretariat was provided by LIT.


Leave a Reply